Site icon Signpost News

Manipur Cricket team promotes to Elite group of Ranji Trophy

Manipur Cricket team

Manipur Cricket team promotes to Elite group in Ranji Trophy 2022-2023.

Manipur Cricket Team 2022-23 creates history at Lalbhai Contractor Stadium, Surat by beating Sikkim to enter the Plate Final Match to be played against Bihar from 25th-29th January 2023 at Patna.

Sharing the news, Manipur CM N Biren posted on his official Facebook page, “History has been scripted as Manipur sailed into the finals of the Ranji Trophy Plate Group by defeating Sikkim. Indeed, a moment of pride for the state!

The state has now started producing talented players who can reach national levels. The team will be facing Bihar in the finals. The state will be hosting big teams like Mumbai, Delhi, Haryana, Bengal, etc. at Luwangsangbam Cricket Ground next year as we get promoted to the Elite Group.”

President of Manipur Cricket Association )MCA), RK Imo also shares the news on his Facebook page.

“The historic celebration for a historic triumph. Players are ecstatic after the win taking Manipur to the final of the Ranji Trophy Plate Group where we will face Bihar. Congratulations to the whole team and the support staff along with all the cricket lovers in our State. We are in the big league now. #RanjiTrophy

RK Imo also announced rewards of Rs 15 Lacs for the players and support staff for their splendid performance.

“Excitement all around within the cricket fraternity, heard the best news when I landed in Delhi. the players deserve all the accolades for creating history by reaching the finals of the Ranji Trophy Plate Group with an indigenous team, born and bred in Manipur.

On behalf of Manipur Cricket Association, I announce a sum of Rs 15 Lacs for the players and support staffs for their splendid performance by reaching the finals. Manipur is now in the Elite Group next year.”

In today’s semi-final match, the Manipur cricket team won the toss and elected to field first. Manipur cricket team won by 2 wickets.

In the first innings, Sikkim scored 229 in 71.4 overs (all out) and Manipur could score only 166 runs in 63.4 overs (all out). Nilesh Lamichaney of Sikkim scored 83 runs facing 159 balls while Sumit scored 56 runs out of 90 balls. Manipur’s Jotin Pheiroijam and Kishan Singha took 4 wickets each while Rex and Bishwojit took one wicket each.

In reply to Sikkim’s 229 runs, Manipur’s Rahman was the top scorer with 31 runs, Kishan Singha (27), Jotin Pheiroijam scored 25, and Rex scores 17 off 21 balls. Sikkim bowler, Bijay took 4 wickets with an economical rate of 1.80.

In the second innings, Sikkim was all out with 273 runs in 83.5 overs. Sumit hits a century (168 out of 164 balls). Manipur’s Jotin Pheiroijam took 5 wickets while Kishan Singha took 4 wickets.

Chasing Sikkim’s 273 runs, Manipur piled up 340 runs with 8 wickets down. B Rahman, Bikash, Prafullomani, and Wicket Keeper Shah scored 75,64,34, and 43 respectively. Manipur team captain Langolyamba M scored 52 as well. Sumit of Sikkim took 6 wickets.

Coaches of Manipur Cricket team at Ranji Trophy 2022-2023.

It is noteworthy that the Coach of Manipur Cricket team is Rakesh Sharma from Delhi who just groomed the State team a few months ago. Naorem Roben is the Assistant Coach of Manipur Cricket team of Ranji Trophy 2022-2023. Besides, the team is taken care of by support staff and one Manager.

Manipur cricket team is unique in having an indigenous team. Manipur is the only team in the Ranji Trophy 2022-2023 plate group without any players from outside. The state team is getting huge encouragement from the president of the Manipur Cricket Association, MLA RK Imo. His effort paid off and Manipur creates history in Cricket during his tenure.

Exit mobile version